I DON’T WANT TO DO IT

Pic I Am For blog

My Diary

Lucy Alden
June 15, 2025

I Don’t Want To Do It!

My boyfriend said The Corporate-Government wars of 2020 have resulted in a global corporate dictatorship. Its legacy? Escalating climate changes, limited food supplies, and clean air only for the elite.

Those are his exact words, the ones he used before he disappeared a month ago. I’ve been trying to find out what happened to him, but there’s nowhere I can turn for real information. No one will tell me anything. It’s like he never existed.

When the corporate changeover came, I’d just finished nurses training. I was so excited. I was finally going to take care of patients. I love taking care of people, helping them in any way I can. Just about everyone appreciates nurses and the care they give. But these days, all I see are the results of food rationing and the assaults of climate disruptions everywhere.

Everyone is talking about loss — lost family members, lost loved ones.

In the past five years, things have gotten even worse, and the last two weeks, for me – well, it’s really been horrible.

I don’t know what to do.
They abruptly stopped the nurses from taking care of people. Androids now do all of our jobs – every single one.

I’ve been sent to the Pulmonary Department where I see first hand the results of unscrubbed air. It’s destroying everyone’s lungs across the planet.

What I’ve learned:

The disease rate is rising much quicker than they can fight it by enclosing the city in the protective domes they’ve designed to try to keep out the polluted air.

Men, women, children all over the planet simply can’t breathe without gasping. . Some can’t even take a single breath.

Now, there are the dying ones. That’s why I’m here in Pulmonary.
My unit team leader came to me this morning and without a word put a black card on my desk.

My heart raced and I thought I would throw up. She didn’t have to say anything, and she didn’t. I knew it was coming and I knew what it was for. I was the last one on my nursing team who hadn’t taken her turn at killing a sick patient.

They, the managers, insist it’s euthanasia – a good death. We’re doing the patients a favor. That’s what they say. But they’re not the ones who have to look in the eyes of a child who knows you’re there to murder him.

My friend, Abby, said she had to chase a woman who tried to run away before she could be injected. Everyone in the unit stood still. They waited until the patient couldn’t breathe from the exertion, then she collapsed before she could crash through the door and run away.

I don’t want to do it, no matter how painless it is. I don’t want to plunge that death drug into anyone’s veins.

I want to say no.

But I’ve seen what happens to other nurses who say no. One nurse even tore the black card into tiny pieces and threw it at the team leader.
And then that nurse was gone. Disappeared. Just like my boyfriend.

There are rumors about how they kill the objectors. It’s said they take them to a special lab and strip away all their organs and use them to save corporate leaders.

Is that the truth? Could that be possible?

The team leader is walking my way, bringing the medication I’m supposed to use. It’s already drawn up into a large syringe.

I look into her eyes — gray stony eyes of determination. There’s no compassion, no understanding …

“Here,” she says.

“I won’t do it.” My heart is tearing at my chest. I hand her the torn black card.
She nods at someone behind me and before I can turn, a hood drops over my head.

“Let me go.” I scream as loud as I can.

There’s a stabbing in my arm and as my head spins, I think of my lost boyfriend, my lost love.     Diary Entry Confiscated – June 15, 2025

____________________________________________________________________________________

Coming soon: Rx DEFERRED.
Corporate-Government wars of 2020 have resulted in a global corporate dictatorship. Its legacy? Escalating climate changes, limited food supplies, and clean air only for the elite.
http://www.bettegoldenlamb.com/author

 

2 thoughts on “I DON’T WANT TO DO IT

Leave a Reply

